Home
What we do
Training
Amateur Radio
Photos
Library

Meetings

On the air

Why not join one of our “meetings on the air.”

Every Wednesday evening at 7.30pm (19.30 hours) local time we hold our club net. We call on 145.500MHz and then move to a free channel (normally 145.475MHz).

On Mondays when the school is closed and if we are not meeting elsewhere we will try to meet on 2m (also normally on 145.475MHz) as a pseudo club meeting on the air.

The Thursday evening meeting on the air also starts at 7.30pm (19.30 hours) local time on 145.475MHz but this is more of an experimenters meeting and is likely to move onto an HF band or elsewhere depending on what the participants want to do. It will always stay on 2m for at least 15 minutes though.

Please note that if 145.475MHz is busy, we will use the nearest available free channel on 2m. (bearing in mind that some of our members may have equipment that uses 25KHz channel spacing).


Friday evening 70cm Net at 7.30pm (19.30 hours) local time on 432.220MHz SSB. Most participants use Vertical Polarised aerials. Hosted by Dave (G4BCA)


Bank Holiday Meetings

On Bank Holiday Monday afternoons (from about 1pm to about 4pm) we operate from an elevated location, usually at Crickley Hill Country Park. Non-members and visitors are welcome to come and see what we do and what Amateur Radio is all about. Alternately, if you have a suitable radio, why not listen for our call sign:

G4AYM

Crickley Hill Country Park is about 6 miles (10km) south of Cheltenham, close to the junction of the A417 and A436. From the "Air Balloon" public house and roundabout, which is on the junction, take the A436 which is signed to Oxford. After about 100yards (100m) turn left towards Cheltenham. The entrance to the Country Park is about 300 yards (300m) down the Cheltenham Road on the left.

Please note that the Country Park makes a charge for parking. Visitors arriving by car should park in the area reserved for cars and then come and see us in the coach park at the top of the hill. GARES has a special arrangement with the country park that involves us in paying for the use of the coach park. Unfotunately, this arrangement is strictly for club members only. Other users may be charged at the coach parking rate.

More information

Coming Up


Monday 18th November 2019 from 7.30pm

Physics of Lightening and Effects on Radio Equipment
Talk by Dave (G4BCA)

at Churchdown School

Monday 25th November 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 2nd December 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 9th December 2019

Christmas Meal

Please note that there is NO meeting at the school.

Monday 16th December 2019 from 7.30pm

Grand Christmas Raffle

at Churchdown School

Monday 23rd December 2019

No Meeting

School Closed for Christmas

Monday 30th December 2019

No Meeting

School Closed for Christmas / New Year

Monday 6th January 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 13th January 2020 from 7.30pm

HeathKit
Talk by Brian (G4CIB)

at Churchdown School

Monday 20th January 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 27th January 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 3rd February 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 10th February 2020 from 7.30pm

Operating A Small Scale Dab Multiplex using SDR
by Andy (2E0UPS)

at Churchdown School

Monday 17th February 2020

School Closed for Half Term
Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm instead

Monday 24th February 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 2nd March 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 9th March 2020 from 7.30pm

Intermodulation
Talk by Peter (G3RZP)

at Churchdown School

Monday 16th March 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 23rd March 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 30th March 2020 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding
Practice

at Churchdown School

Monday 6th April 2020

Skittles

Time and location to be advised
Please note that there is NO meeting at the school.

Monday 13th April 2020 about 1pm to 4pm

Bank Holiday Operating

from Crickley Hill Country Park
Also, Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

Monday 20th April 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 4th May 2020 about 1pm to 4pm

Bank Holiday Operating

from Crickley Hill Country Park
Also, Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

Monday 11th May 2020 from 7.30pm

999 Emergency. A History of Public Safety Communications.
Talk by Steve (G3ZPS)

at Churchdown School

Monday 18th May 2020 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding Contest

Round 1

at Churchdown School

Monday 25th May 2020 about 1pm to 4pm

Bank Holiday Operating

from Crickley Hill Country Park
Also, Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

Monday 1st June 2020 from 7.30pm

Construction Competition

at Churchdown School

Monday 8th June 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 15th June 2020 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding Contest

Round 2

at Churchdown School

Monday 22nd June 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 29th June 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 6th July 2020 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding Contest

Round 3

at Churchdown School

Monday 13th July 2020 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

From Monday 20 July 2020

School Closed for Summer Break

Club on the Air (145.475MHz) every Monday at 7.30pm instead

Monday 31st August 2020 about 1pm to 4pm

Bank Holiday Operating

from Crickley Hill Country Park
Also, Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

 

We try to have a formal meeting, such as a lecture, on the first Monday in each month that we meet at the school. However, this sometimes changes due to scheduling difficulties with the speaker so please keep an eye on the website. We run operating/construction/informal meetings or DF Hunts on the other Mondays.

These less formal meetings give members a chance to get on the air, do some construction work, just have a good old chin-wag with some old friends, or make some new friends.

We also have rigs and equipment for members to use.

Tea, coffee and biscuits are normally available (for a small charge) at our meetings

Why not join us? Come along and we will make you very welcome.

About Us
Contact Us
Links