Home
What we do
Training
Amateur Radio
Photos
Library

Meetings

On the air

Why not join one of our “meetings on the air.”

Every Wednesday evening at 7.30pm (19.30 hours) local time we hold our club net. We call on 145.500MHz and then move to a free channel (normally 145.475MHz).

On Mondays when the school is closed and if we are not meeting elsewhere we will try to meet on 2m (also normally on 145.475MHz) as a pseudo club meeting on the air.

The Thursday evening meeting on the air also starts at 7.30pm (19.30 hours) local time on 145.475MHz but this is more of an experimenters meeting and is likely to move onto an HF band or elsewhere depending on what the participants want to do. It will always stay on 2m for at least 15 minutes though.

Please note that if 145.475MHz is busy, we will use the nearest available free channel on 2m. (bearing in mind that some of our members may have equipment that uses 25KHz channel spacing).


Friday evening 70cm Net at 7.30pm (19.30 hours) local time on 432.220MHz SSB. Most participants use Vertical Polarised aerials. Hosted by Dave (G4BCA)


Bank Holiday Meetings

On Bank Holiday Monday afternoons (from about 1pm to about 4pm) we operate from an elevated location, usually at Crickley Hill Country Park. Non-members and visitors are welcome to come and see what we do and what Amateur Radio is all about. Alternately, if you have a suitable radio, why not listen for our call sign:

G4AYM

Crickley Hill Country Park is about 6 miles (10km) south of Cheltenham, close to the junction of the A417 and A436. From the "Air Balloon" public house and roundabout, which is on the junction, take the A436 which is signed to Oxford. After about 100yards (100m) turn left towards Cheltenham. The entrance to the Country Park is about 300 yards (300m) down the Cheltenham Road on the left.

Please note that the Country Park makes a charge for parking. Visitors arriving by car should park in the area reserved for cars and then come and see us in the coach park at the top of the hill. GARES has a special arrangement with the country park that involves us in paying for the use of the coach park. Unfotunately, this arrangement is strictly for club members only. Other users may be charged at the coach parking rate.

More information

Coming Up


Monday 17th December 2018 from 7.30pm

Grand Christmas Raffle

at Churchdown School

Monday 24th December 2018

No Meeting

School closed for Christmas

Monday 31st December 2018

No Meeting

School closed for Christmas / New year

Monday 7th January 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 14th January 2019 from 7.30pm

This is my Shack

Name the member who owns this shack (photos)

at Churchdown School

Monday 21st January 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 28th January 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 4th February 2019 from 7.30pm

SDR on a Shoestring
with Mike (G6OTP)

at Churchdown School

Monday 11th February 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 18th February 2019

No Meeting
School closed for Half Term

Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm instead

Monday 25th February 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 4th March 2019 from 7.30pm

FT8
with Barry (M0HFY)

at Churchdown School

Monday 11th March 2019 from 7.30pm

FT8 Demonstration
in the club shack

with Barry (M0HFY)

at Churchdown School

Monday 18th March 2019 from 7.30pm

4:10 Spout

Four 10 minute talks from members

at Churchdown School

Monday 25th March 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 1st April 2019 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding
Practice

at Churchdown School

Monday 8th April 2019

Social Evening
Skittles at Churchdown Club

School closed

Monday 15th April 2019

No Meeting
School closed

Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

Monday 22nd April 2019 about 1pm to 4pm

School closed for Easter, so
Bank Holiday Operating

from Crickley Hill Country Park
Also, Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

Monday 29th April 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 6th May 2019 about 1pm to 4pm

School closed for May Bank Holiday, so
Bank Holiday Operating

from Crickley Hill Country Park
Also, Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

Monday 13th May 2019 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding
Contest

Round 1

at Churchdown School

Monday 20th May 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 27th May 2019 about 1pm to 4pm

School closed for Late Spring Bank Holiday, so
Bank Holiday Operating

from Crickley Hill Country Park
Also, Club on the Air (145.475MHz) at 7.30pm

Monday 3rd June 2019 from 7.30pm

Construction Competition

at Churchdown School

Monday 10th June 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 17th June 2019 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding
Contest

Round 2

at Churchdown School

Monday 24th June 2019 from 7.30pm

Informal Meeting and General Operating

at Churchdown School

Monday 1st July 2019 from 7.30pm

Summer Raffle

at Churchdown School

Monday 8th July 2019 from 7.30pm

Direction Finding
Contest

Round 3

at Churchdown School

Monday 15th July 2019

No Meeting

School closed for Summer Break

 

We try to have a formal meeting, such as a lecture, on the first Monday in each month that we meet at the school. However, this sometimes changes due to scheduling difficulties with the speaker so please keep an eye on the website. We run operating/construction/informal meetings or DF Hunts on the other Mondays.

These less formal meetings give members a chance to get on the air, do some construction work, just have a good old chin-wag with some old friends, or make some new friends.

We also have rigs and equipment for members to use.

Tea, coffee and biscuits are normally available (for a small charge) at our meetings

Why not join us? Come along and we will make you very welcome.

About Us
Contact Us
Links